Jack’s Mountain

This time I knew. There would be two climbs today. The first was right out of RAAM Time Station 50 in Rouzerville on Old State Road 16 East. A poor old dog tried to catch me and a bug did catch me. I needed my hands on the handlebars to climb so I couldn’t bat the bug away. 

Old State Road 16 East poured into new State Road 16 and took me past a road construction site to a left turn onto Jack’s Mountain Road. Jack was my dad’s name. How about that? The very last climb of the entire RAAM route has the same name as my dad who passed away about a year ago while I was on my first cross-country ride. Dad, today’s ride is in memory of you.

I let myself go on the final descent of the route from Jack’s Mountain. I was flying down when I saw a red traffic light at the bottom. No fair! I’m finally letting myself enjoy a descent! It was justified, though. The light regulated traffic onto the McGlaughlin Covered Bridge, a one-laner with a wooden deck. Here’s a video of the final ascent and descent of the RAAM route.

As we went through Fairfield, we saw road detour signs. Susie checked Google maps and found that our turn onto Bullfrog Road came before the actual closed road, so we proceeded past the detour signs. Bullfrog was narrow, shady, very hilly, and heavily used by trucks. When I finally got to the end and turned left onto Pumping Station Road, the wide open vista provided a place to reflect with Susie that I was tired of the stress of traffic.

Pumping Station Road’s wide view and delicious descent brought many pleasant minutes to the ride. Here’s a video of this refreshing portion of the ride.

I started to see a very tall tower, and, this time, it wasn’t a cell tower. I reached Confederate Avenue and there it was. I was not going to ride clear across the country and not climb the stairs up that tower! It’s called Longstreet Tower and it’s on the farm that Dwight D. Eisenhower owned in Gettysburg. Eisenhower was the first president I actually remember. He served from 1953 – 1961.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I could see the beautiful fields where the battles of Gettysburg were fought. It was so difficult to imagine the carnage that occurred there. Once I drank in the views, I got back on the bike and cycled through the battlefields at ground level. Here’s a video of that sad place.

The ride concluded in the town of Hanover PA. Tonight we are staying nearby at the extraordinary home of Barbara and Hank Evans overlooking Lake Heritage in Gettysburg. Susie and I worked with Barbara 40 years ago at Western Junior High School. Our colleague, Kay, and her husband drove all the way from Leesburg VA to join us for dinner at the highly historic Dobbin House Tavern in Gettysburg. We are incredibly grateful to our dinner and bed and breakfast hosts!

four-coworkers
Me, Susie, Kay, and Barbara – coworkers 40 years ago
dinner-at-dobbin-house-tavern
Dinner at Dobbin House Tavern – Kay, me, Susie, Barbara, Hank, and Jake (and it’s his birthday!)

I am now done with the portion of the RAAM route that I am going to do. For me, there’s something iconic about going ocean to ocean so we’re going rogue now and heading for the beach. We are leaving the comfort of the sometimes quirky, mostly informative, sometimes just plain wrong cue sheets and elevation profiles for the RAAM route. Over the next five days, we will follow a route designed by my friend, Joan, on RideWithGPS. Thank you, Joan! It will take us to Bethany Beach DE where the plan is to dip my wheel in the Atlantic Ocean on Sunday, October 23. I hope you’ll come along with Susie and me via the blog for the final days. I have really enjoyed interacting with you through the blog!

Ride details

Start location: Rouzerville PA

End location: Hanover PA

Distance: 41.3 miles

Cumulative distance: 2971.3 miles

Elevation gain: 2411.4 feet (bringing the total to over 110,000 feet)

Strava track: https://www.strava.com/activities/748844624

10 thoughts on “Jack’s Mountain

  1. LOVED that descent! Thank you for sharing! Wow — all this and reunions and history too, now on to the ocean….it is amazing what you are doing, and with energy to spare for blogging for us all!

    Like

  2. So happy to see you and Susie last night but wished we would have gone to Tygart Lake a few days early to meet up with you there and you could have stayed in our cabin. Just poor planning on our part. We had room for both of you and it is such a beautiful and quiet place and you can see the lake through the trees. Anyway, glad you loved the Dobbin House in Gettysburg and it was great to see Barbara and Hank too. I loved those years at Western Junior High. Don’t forget to stop here in Leesburg to see us when you start to pedal again! And don’t forget to dip your bike in the Atlantic!

    Like

  3. Dearest GBR Team,
    Lynn, Oh Yes Jack was with you today and as was Susie’s Dad, Charles. Both have been cheering you on. Charles loved bridges– of all sorts. For his honeymoon, Charles took Mom on a road trip -and gave her a Kodak movie camera to document the drive … from the front seat of the car…and every Bridge from Rochester NY through Mom’s homeland of PA to Plymouth Rock MA is on the movie (I have the tape!) Therefore, the covered bridge at the bottom of Jack’s mountain was from our Dad Charles… just a little “OK — to go slow and smooth now message”…Love the videos!
    Watch out for traffic- you are back in car and truck land. We all cheer you on!

    Like

  4. Dear Team-
    Lynn, yes Jack is with you! And Susie’s Dad, Charles, too. They are both cheering you onward.
    Charles took his bride, Edna, on a honeymoon road trip from Rochester NY , via Edna’s homeland of PA to Plymouth Rock…with our Mom (Kodak camera in hand) in the front seat taking “home” movies. Charles planned the route over every bridge (he was a mechanical engineer) that existed in the day. (I have the video!) So the little covered bridge at the bottom of Jack’s Mountain was care of Charles. Perhaps his little message “OK— to go slow now and always have for plan “b”…
    Watch out, as you are now in the land of cars and trucks, safe travels strong sisters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

